World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > DIY Projects > Amplifiers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Amplifiers Your DIY amplifier designs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th January 2011, 10:34 AM
pre65's Avatar
pre65 pre65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashen- Essex/Suffolk bord
Posts: 4,088
Default 833a Amp

Work has started on this beast, slow progress (cos I'm a slow worker ) and the first pair uf GU-48 (833a) came damaged in transit. Not broken glass but fell apart internally.

Here's a picture of the first monoblock trolley with bits laid out to get the best layout.

[IMG][/IMG]
__________________
Philip.

Everything in this post is my honest opinion based on what i thought I knew at that very moment in time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st February 2011, 02:04 PM
pre65's Avatar
pre65 pre65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashen- Essex/Suffolk bord
Posts: 4,088
Default Re: 833a Amp

Snail pace building continues.

I've managed to get one filament PSU up and running. With a 12V SM PSU and dropping resistors and smoothing caps I get 9.96V. Target was 10V so close enough ?

__________________
Philip.

Everything in this post is my honest opinion based on what i thought I knew at that very moment in time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st February 2011, 02:41 PM
Richard Richard is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Notts
Posts: 3,995
Default Re: 833a Amp

That's huge Philip, my amp sat ON a TV stand but wasn't part of it err, is it a stereo TV stand or are there 2 of them....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st February 2011, 02:50 PM
pre65's Avatar
pre65 pre65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashen- Essex/Suffolk bord
Posts: 4,088
Default Re: 833a Amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard View Post
That's huge Philip, my amp sat ON a TV stand but wasn't part of it err, is it a stereo TV stand or are there 2 of them....
No, there are two ! While clearing out the loft (to have it insulated) I found two identical trolleys.

Bear in mind these are just the output stages, there is a 300b (or PT15 or KT66) amp and power supply to go with them as well. And also the HUGE Hammond output transformers are offboard, so floor space could be a problem.
__________________
Philip.

Everything in this post is my honest opinion based on what i thought I knew at that very moment in time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st February 2011, 09:37 PM
Dewisant
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 833a Amp

All I can say is WOW
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd February 2011, 12:23 AM
BOONDI's Avatar
BOONDI BOONDI is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dundee, Scotland.
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: 833a Amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by pre65 View Post
No, there are two ! While clearing out the loft (to have it insulated) I found two identical trolleys.

Bear in mind these are just the output stages, there is a 300b (or PT15 or KT66) amp and power supply to go with them as well. And also the HUGE Hammond output transformers are offboard, so floor space could be a problem.
Seems to me your just showing off now Philip.....:p

Superb......
__________________
Who am I? Just another concerned citizen....

ONE LOVE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd February 2011, 08:23 AM
pre65's Avatar
pre65 pre65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashen- Essex/Suffolk bord
Posts: 4,088
Default Re: 833a Amp

Well , I started with 832a, so one up seemed a good thing to try.

Keeps me out of mischief.
__________________
Philip.

Everything in this post is my honest opinion based on what i thought I knew at that very moment in time.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd February 2011, 09:40 AM
Dave Cawley's Avatar
Dave Cawley Dave Cawley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dartmouth Devon UK
Posts: 98
Exclamation This is VERY dangerous

As admin on this site I must point out this project has the capacity to instantly kill and also to burn a house down, and easily both.

The proposed very long wires could easily set up a feedback oscillator with might be a big problem. The use of 1,500 volts at half an amp would instantly kill you.

But perhaps the most worrying is the 1,500 volt return through a SMPS which will simply not handle it and is likely to instantly catch on fire and put a destructive voltage through the mains affecting your own and adjacent properties.

Please feel free to talk about this on this forum, but it must be noted that the forum owners cannot approve or endorse any such home build. Further more this forum cannot be held liable for loss of life or property by ignoring this notice.

Sorry for the hard stuff....................

Regards

Dave
__________________
.
Sound Hi Fi ~~~ Timestep Forum
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd February 2011, 02:55 PM
pre65's Avatar
pre65 pre65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashen- Essex/Suffolk bord
Posts: 4,088
Default Re: 833a Amp

Hi Dave, you seem to be making several quite incorrect assumptions.

1500V ? where did that come from.

1500V through SMPS ? Oh yeah, how did you work that out ?

Very long wires ? Have you measured them ? How long is very long ?

If you want accurate details of my DIY electrocution/spontaneous combustion device just ask.

Any HT on any valve amp, DIY or proprietary can kill, that we all know, or should do.
__________________
Philip.

Everything in this post is my honest opinion based on what i thought I knew at that very moment in time.

Last edited by pre65; 2nd February 2011 at 03:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd February 2011, 04:39 PM
colin.hepburn's Avatar
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,022
Default Re: 833a Amp

I think someone needs to do some research
I think we All know this hobby can kill ether by making a mistake or just being plan stupid it just doesn’t apply the valves ether It applies too Solid state Audio and any mains powered things you can stick you fingers in
Only 10 milli amperes (0.0001 amps) through the heart is enough to kill a human.
__________________
The Blues man
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs