World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > WAD > WAD General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WAD General For discussions re World Audio Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71  
Old 5th November 2017, 07:24 PM
Chris Chris is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 343
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

PSU with new Hammond choke.....

Chris.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0138.JPG (104.2 KB, 70 views)
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 6th November 2017, 07:49 AM
bob orbell bob orbell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: kettering northants.
Posts: 2,404
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

Best I don't make any comment about that fitment. BOB
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 10th May 2022, 02:24 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,662
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

Hi All
Just came by my old thread here and was queries to know if all of you who tried my choke upgrade to the Hammond 157G 30H@40mA 595R are still using it in your PSU.
Sadly this choke is not too easy to get hold of now as bluebell audio no longer trades which is disappointing for the hobby and as I am only an hour away from him parts were easy to get I will miss that convenience from Philip.
Colin
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 11th May 2022, 02:19 PM
vinylspinner vinylspinner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: devizes in wiltshire
Posts: 84
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

Iím still using the Hammond in all 3 of my PSU3 power supplies, donít feel any need to change that.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 11th May 2022, 02:31 PM
Greg.'s Avatar
Greg. Greg. is offline
WD Archivist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,502
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

I still have the Hammond in my PSU II. Not in use at present but like Nigel, I have no plans to change it.

On buying Hammond parts, Colin, did you know you can buy direct from the company?

https://www.hammfg.com/
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 11th May 2022, 02:47 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,662
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinylspinner View Post
Iím still using the Hammond in all 3 of my PSU3 power supplies, donít feel any need to change that.

Yep I still have the Hammond choke in my PSU2 I just swapped it over recently to the PSU3 which is only running the phono3 at the moment
I am now thinking to build a second custom version of the psu3 with two chokes and valve rectified for the CF preamp when I repair it still needs the new input switcher
Colin
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 11th May 2022, 03:07 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,662
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg. View Post
I still have the Hammond in my PSU II. Not in use at present but like Nigel, I have no plans to change it.

On buying Hammond parts, Colin, did you know you can buy direct from the company?

https://www.hammfg.com/
Hi Greg
Yes I did Greg
it was just easy to phone Philip at bluebell and get the parts the next day I miss the ease of that today. Plus the shipping charges from Hammond will be higher now. I see that hifi collective does a similar spec choke I have a pair but havenít used them in anything to date so canít say if there are any good or not
https://www.hificollective.co.uk/com...s-25h50ma.html
Colin
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 25th July 2022, 12:08 PM
Desmodromic's Avatar
Desmodromic Desmodromic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 61
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinylspinner View Post
Iím still using the Hammond in all 3 of my PSU3 power supplies, donít feel any need to change that.
I am still using the Hammond 157G choke in my PSU3. Very happy with it.

I've been eying the 1H choke in my WAD KECL82 recently and thinking...
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 25th July 2022, 12:42 PM
bob orbell bob orbell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: kettering northants.
Posts: 2,404
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

I am shortly going to post about my PSU and Phono III that has took almost 20 years to reach its final state, it now sounds incredibly good and no chokes. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 29th July 2022, 01:31 PM
pre65's Avatar
pre65 pre65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashen- Essex/Suffolk bord
Posts: 4,538
Default Re: WD/WAD PSU PHONO II Choke upgrade

Hi Bob, I must admit I don't visit here very often, but I look forward to hearing about this project.
__________________
Philip.

Everything in this post is my honest opinion based on what i thought I knew at that very moment in time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs